Tales From De Wallen, Episode 1

Here’s the first, and no doubt last, installment of a comic strip series I’ve created titled “Tales From De Wallen.” The following could probably use some context.

I was hiking back to Amsterdam Centraal last Saturday afternoon, completely oblivious to my surroundings. I looked up from the sidewalk, not expecting to glance over and see a prostitute window, let alone one featuring a 250 lb+ woman who resembled Buddha sitting inside, all covered in tattoos, with a large lotus flower in her hair. After she caught my eye, she blew me a kiss. Good times.

And to think that future generations of American expats may not get to experience awkward situations like this one as they pass through the Red Light District. Sigh…

This entry was posted in Holland, politics, Tales From De Wallen, vice. Bookmark the permalink.